Georgetown Law
Georgetown Law Library

Federal Court Rules Research Guide

This guide identifies the most important sources for finding federal court rules; it identifies the materials that help in the interpretation of those rules; and finally, suggests some sources for federal procedural forms.

About Procedural Forms

Many publications provide litigation forms that are patterned to comply with federal court rules. A few of the more popular form books are listed below. Use these forms with caution, however, because court rules may have changed since the forms were written, and local court rules may have altered the rules of general applicability for practice in your specific court. You should always check the text of the rules themselves to be sure that a form complies with them.

Sources for Procedural Forms

  • American Jurisprudence Pleading and Practice Forms
    [Print: KF8836 .A45; also available on Westlaw]
    ‚Äč
    Provides forms intended for use in state as well as federal courts; therefore, the forms in this set may not comply with the federal rules. Forms are arranged by subject rather than court rule. The print set provides a subject index to all volumes.

  • Bender's Federal Practice Forms 
    [available on Lexis Advance

    Provides forms for all federal courts, including the Supreme Court, admiralty courts, bankruptcy courts, U.S. Tax Court, U.S. Court of Claims, and U.S. Court of International Trade. The Lexis database is browsable by table of contents and the forms are arranged by court and rule number, so you can browse for forms related to the relevant rule.

  • Bender's Forms of Discovery
    [available on Lexis Advance: Bender's Forms of Discovery Interrogatories (Volumes 1 to 10A)Bender's Forms of Discovery Treatise (Volumes 11-17) (Index)]

    Provides sample interrogatories and other forms for both plaintiffs and defendants on hundreds of topics.

  • Federal Procedural Forms, Lawyer's Ed.
    [Print: KF8717 .F4; also available on Westlaw]

    Arranged by topic, with a subject index to all volumes. In addition to providing procedural forms for use in all federal courts, also provides forms for adversary and rulemaking proceedings of federal administrative agencies.

  • West's Federal Forms
    [Print: KF8836 .W4; also available on Westlaw]

    Provides forms for all federal courts, including the Supreme Court, admiralty courts, bankruptcy courts, U.S. Tax Court, U.S. Court of Claims, and U.S. Court of International Trade. The set is arranged by court and rule number, and the Westlaw database is browsable by table of contents, so even online you can browse for forms by rule.

Other Sources of Procedural Forms

Search the catalog using the following subject headings (after clicking below or running a subject heading search, click the topic of interest to see a list of books in our collection that deal with that topic):

*Substitute a state name for "United States" to find materials on state procedure.

You can also browse forms on Lexis Advance or Westlaw

For more information on locating legal forms, see the library's Legal Forms Research Guide.