Hawaii Resources

Databases

• Hawaii Revised Statutes Annotated on Lexis
  • Michie`s Hawaii Revised Statutes Annotated - INDEX on Lexis
• Hawaii Statutes & Court Rules on Westlaw
• Hawaii Revised Statutes on Bloomberg Law

State Websites

• Hawaii Revised Statutes (Haw. St. Legislature)
  • Hawaii Revised Statutes Table of Contents (Haw. Legislature)

Print Statutes

Hawaii Revised Statutes (Haw. Rev. Stat.)

• WorldCat: Haw. Rev. Stat.
• Library of Congress: Haw. Rev. Stat.

Michie's Hawaii Revised Statutes Annotated (Haw. Rev. Stat. Ann. (LexisNexis)

• WorldCat: Haw. Rev. Stat. Ann. (LexisNexis)
• Library of Congress: Haw. Rev. Stat. Ann. (LexisNexis)

West's Hawaii Revised Statutes Annotated

• WorldCat. Haw. Rev. Stat. Ann. (West)
• Library of Congress: Haw. Rev. Stat. Ann. (West)

The American Association of Law Libraries' Online Legal Information Resources notes the official status of each state's primary law publications found on government websites, including statutes.

The National Conference of State Legislatures published a list of official state code publications, and their available formats, based upon a  2011 survey of Official Version of the State Statutes/Code.

• HeinOnline State Statutes: A Historical Archive
• LLMC Digital Historical State Statutes: Found in U.S. States and Territories: [State]: Laws (by date).
• Lexis Archived Code Search
• Westlaw Historical Annotated State Statutes

Resources

• HeinOnline Session Laws (coverage from1901 (Laws of the Territory)).
• Punawaiola Legal Archives Collection: Session Laws (coverage from 1840-1849 to 2000-2005).
• Hawaii State Legislature: Session Law Archives (coverage from 1999).

Research Guides

• How to Research Constitutional, Legislative, and Statutory History in Hawaii, 3rd Edition (2001) by by Richard F. Kahle, Jr., Legislative Reference Bureau, State Capitol.
• Hawai`i Legal Research: Legislative History (U. Haw. L. Sch. Libr.).
• Hawai'i Legislative History: How to Research the History of a Statute (Legis. Reference Bureau).
• Hawai'i Legislative History Research (Haw. St. L. Libr.).
• Hawai'i Legal Research Guides: Hawai'i Legislative History (U. Haw. L. Sch. Libr.) (see Hawai'i Legislative History section in guide).
• Hawai`i Legal Research: Kingdom Laws (U. Haw. L. Sch. Libr.).
• Hawai'i Laws 1822-1959 (U. Haw. L. Sch. Libr.).
• Hawai'i Legal History (U. Haw. L. Sch. Libr.)

For current state constitution developments: State Court Reports.

For provision-by-provision commentary on the state's constitution with analysis of the state's current constitution and its evolution: Oxford Commentaries on the State Constitutions of the United States. Editions held by the Law Library will be found in the catalog, including those published under a former series title.

Includes videos covering topics "What are Statutes and Where to Find Them," "Anatomy of a Code," "Finding Statutes Online," "Finding Statutes Using Print," and "Updating and Currency."