Guides: Tax Policy Research Guide: Think Tanks and Public Opinion

Key to Icons

Public policy research and analysis is often the province of non-profit research organizations known as think tanks.

Tax Policy Think Tanks:

Tax Policy Center
Urban Institute and Brookings Institution
American Tax Policy Institute
ATPI supports nonpartisan scholarly research, analysis and discussion of U.S. federal, state and local, and international tax policy issues
Institute on Taxation and Economic Policy
ITEP is a non-profit, non-partisan tax policy organization that conducts analyses of tax and economic proposals and provides data-driven recommendations to shape equitable and sustainable tax systems
Tax Foundation
Since 1937, research and analysis have informed tax policy in the U.S. and internationally.
Tax Foundation Archived Publications (HeinOnline)
This collection provides access to the complete archive of the Tax Foundation's publications from 1937 to date, which contain information on taxation, fiscal policy, finance, and more.

Public Policy & Economic Policy Think Tanks:

Policy Databases

PAIS Index
Covers issues in the public debate through a wide variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more.
Policy File Index
Indexes research and publications from public policy think tanks, university research programs, research organizations, and publishers. Each item includes an abstract and, where available, access to the full-text of the report and/or the homepages and email addresses of the authoring institution.

Public opinion may influence the creation of policy statements. For resources on public opinion and polling, please see Lauinger Library's Public Opinion and Polling Research Guide. For datasets and statistics, see our Statistics and Empirical Legal Studies Research Guide.