Georgetown Law
Georgetown Law Library

Labor and Employment Law Research Guide

This guide is a starting point for research in U.S. federal labor and employment covering employment discrimination, disability law, employee benefits, labor arbitration, labor relations, workplace health and safety.

Journal Articles

For recent articles, online sources are the most effective. You can use Lexis or Westlaw, for the full text of many (but NOT all) law journals, or you can use online indexes from the Library's homepage to get citations for articles in just about all legal journals. For more information on how to find journal articles, consult our research guide Articles for Legal and Non-Legal Research or our Law Reviews Tutorial.

If you need an article from a journal that the Library does not have, contact the Reference Desk. We can help you find a library that does have it. You can also request the article on Interlibrary Loan.

Major Labor and Employment Law Journals

  • Berkeley Journal of Employment and Labor Law
    K2 .E74 (Vol. 14-31:1 (1993-2010))
    HeinOnline: full coverage from vol. 1, 1976
    LexisNexis Academic: coverage from vol. 14, 1993
    Westlaw: select coverage from vol. 6 (1984) and full coverage from vol. 15 (1994)

  • Employee Relations Law Journal
    K5 .M64 (from vol. 1, 1975-76)
    ProQuest: full coverage from 1987

  • Employee Rights and Employment Policy Journal
    F5 .M653 (from vol. 1, 1997)
    LexisNexis Academic - coverage from Fall 1997
    Westlaw: full coverage from vol. 1 (1997)

  • Hofstra Labor & Employment Law Journal (continues Hofstra Labor Law Journal)
    K8 .O443 (Vol. 15-27 (1997-2010))
    HeinOnline: full coverage from vol. 15 (Hofstra Labor Law Journal coverage from vol. 2-14)
    Westlaw: selective coverage from vol. 2 (1984) and full coverage from vol. 10 (1993)

  • Industrial and Labor Relations Review
    K9 .N35 (from vol. 1, 1947-48)
    HeinOnline: full coverage from vol. 1, 1947
    LexisNexis Academic: coverage from January 2000
    Westlaw: selective coverage from vol. 44 (1991) and full coverage from vol. 47 (1994)

  • CCH Labor Law Journal
    K12 .A2 (from 1949-2008 (Vol. 1-59:3))
    Westlaw: current coverage

  • University of Pennsylvania Journal of Business Law (formally titled Pennsylvania Journal of Labor and Employment Law, 1998-2007)
    K25 .N683 (Vol. 1-9, 1998-2007) (Vol. 11-13, 2008-2010)
    HeinOnline: full coverage from vol. 1, Fall 1998
    LexisNexis Academic: full coverage from vol. 1, 1998-2008
    Westlaw: full coverage from vol. 1, 1998